I have spent a lot of time working on different plans through out the last few years. Most of the plans are on a traditional pattern using weekly cycles with long runs and rides every weekend. My most recent followed a pattern with 2 weeks of hard work followed by a recovery/cutback week. I found this pattern to be too aggressive for me and I ended up cutting back and rearranging workouts a lot.

My latest format borrows queues from the Triathlete.com article Stop Running Long on Sundays. In the article, JenΓ© Shaw lays out a basic plan for a 2 week cycle – 9 days hard, 5 days recovery.

I liked this way of maximizing hard training and still incorporating recovery. It aligns well with my schedule and doesn’t “waste” any weekends. This is my introductory attempt at this type of a plan while I prepare for the Dopey Challenge (back-to-back race days with a 5k, 10k, half marathon, and full marathon) at the Disney World Marathon Weekend. The 2018 will be my second. Last year I completed the Goofy Challenge (back-to-back half marathon and full marathon).

To prepare my training plan for the upcoming Dopey Challenge, I used some of the lessons learned from previous training plans combined with the 9 days hard/ 5 days recovery approach. I carried over the alternating back-to-back double digit mileage run weekends and also used the swim recovery as an option in here. My biggest lesson learned over the years is to keep my training plans as an evolving document and not follow it religiously. It is important to listen to your body, work around the weather, and recognize that life around training doesn’t ever stop.

I haven’t worked as much bike time into this schedule as I normally would. My hope is to incorporate getting a day a week on the bike mixed in there soon. Part of the reason for holding out is because I am hesitating to put my bike on the trainer and so far the weather isn’t cooperating. There is still some optimism for a nice enough weekend day for an outdoor ride. Also, I am hoping to take my bike with me to Disney World at the end of November.

So far, I am pleased with this format and I expect it to be a great asset as I move back into full triathlon training. I look forward to how it will help me balance morning and night training for , biking, , and strength work in preparation for the 2018 IRONMAN Louisville.


The following is my raw training plan that I keep in Google Docs. I update this worksheet regularly. Actual activity and stats can be seen on my Strava Profile. Soon, I will be planning my high level IRONMAN Louisville training plan and detailed plan through Playin’ Possum 50k in May.

Cycle
Day
Morning
🏊🏻
🚴🏻
πŸƒπŸ»
πŸ‹πŸ»
Evening
🏊🏻
🚴🏻
πŸƒπŸ»
πŸ‹πŸ»
Cycle 1Monday, Aug 245
Tuesday, Aug 2522
Wednesday, Aug 265
Thursday, Aug 275🏊🏻0
Friday, Aug 28🚴🏻64
Saturday, Aug 2910πŸƒπŸ»25
Sunday, Aug 3042Kayaking2πŸ‹πŸ»1
Monday, Aug 315
Tuesday, Sep 120
Wednesday, Sep 25
Thursday, Sep 3REST🏊🏻0
Friday, Sep 45🚴🏻20
Saturday, Sep 513KayakingπŸƒπŸ»32
Sunday, Sep 64KayakingπŸ‹πŸ»0
Cycle 2Monday, Sep 7Labor Day4Kayaking
Tuesday, Sep 8
Wednesday, Sep 9
Thursday, Sep 10🏊🏻0
Friday, Sep 11🚴🏻0
Saturday, Sep 1215πŸƒπŸ»19
Sunday, Sep 13πŸ‹πŸ»0
Monday, Sep 14
Tuesday, Sep 15
Wednesday, Sep 16
Thursday, Sep 17🏊🏻0
Friday, Sep 18🚴🏻0
Saturday, Sep 1918πŸƒπŸ»18
Sunday, Sep 20πŸ‹πŸ»0
Cycle 3Monday, Sep 21
Tuesday, Sep 22
Wednesday, Sep 23
Thursday, Sep 24🏊🏻0
Friday, Sep 25🚴🏻0
Saturday, Sep 2620πŸƒπŸ»20
Sunday, Sep 27πŸ‹πŸ»0
Monday, Sep 28
Tuesday, Sep 29
Wednesday, Sep 30
Thursday, Oct 1🏊🏻0
Friday, Oct 2🚴🏻0
Saturday, Oct 318πŸƒπŸ»18
Sunday, Oct 4πŸ‹πŸ»0
Cycle 4Monday, Oct 5
Tuesday, Oct 6
Wednesday, Oct 7
Thursday, Oct 8🏊🏻0
Friday, Oct 9🚴🏻0
Saturday, Oct 1010πŸƒπŸ»10
Sunday, Oct 11πŸ‹πŸ»0
Monday, Oct 12
Tuesday, Oct 13Massage
Wednesday, Oct 14
Thursday, Oct 15🏊🏻0
Friday, Oct 16🚴🏻0
Saturday, Oct 173πŸƒπŸ»29.2
Sunday, Oct 18"Columbus Marathon"πŸ‹πŸ»0